We are very fortunate to have an excellent Investment Committee which will make investment decisions for LEAP. 

The current composition of the Committee is as follows:

Jamie Hartzell (RFT)

Jamie is an RFT trustee with 20 years of wide-ranging social business experience in the food, finance and property sectors. He is the Chair of Divine Chocolate, a director of the positive investment marketplace Ethex, which he founded, and a director of Spare Fruit, a company turning waste apples and pears into nutritious air-dried crisps. He was for 7 years chair of the fair-trade company Zaytoun. He also set up The Ethical Property Company and the Ethical Property Foundation. Jamie’s other roles include being a Big Society Capital advisory board member and a non-executive director of the campaign group Positive Money.

Samra Mariam (RFT)

Samra is an RFT Trustee and is a management consultant at PWC in their Sustainability and Climate Change practice. Prior to PWC she worked at NEF Consulting, where she focused on quantitative and qualitative measurement and analysis of social, environmental and economic costs and benefits using a variety of methodologies, including Social Return on Investment (SROI) and social cost-benefit analysis. Prior to joining NEF Consulting, Samra earned a BA and MSc in Economics and worked for several years as an economist for a multinational consulting firm where she specialised in economic competition analyses, consulting across a wide range of sectors and industries including education, healthcare, transport, and energy, among others.

Michael Norton (CIVA)

Michael is Honorary Director and Trustee of CIVA, which he founded in 1995. After an early career in merchant banking and publishing Michael decided to pursue a career in the voluntary sector for which he received an OBE in 1998. He is co-founder of Changemakers and UnLtd and founder of Youthbank and the Directory of Social Change.

Claire Brown (CIVA)

Claire is CIVA trustee and a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants. Claire is currently a consultant, trustee and co-opted member of investment and audit committees for various charities, including: National Philanthropic Trust (UK), The Nuffield Foundation and Comic Relief. She is also on the Supervisory Board of a number of Schroders Charity Common Investment Funds. Previously Claire was the Finance & Investment Director of the Esmée Fairbairn Foundation.

Laurence Scott (EFF)

Laurence is a Grants Manager at Esmée Fairbairn Foundation with focus on food and farming, social change and community land trusts.

Anna van der Hurd (ATF)

Anna is Director of the A Team Foundation and has been responsible for the Foundation’s philanthropy since its inception in 2009. Utilising the experience of almost ten years of research and grant-giving in the field of food and farming, Anna coordinated the Foundation’s Social Impact Fund. The Fund’s mission is to establish a better food system by investing in projects, such as the LEAP, that reach vital strategic areas.

Laura Maxwell Stuart (Halleria Trust)

Laura has spent the majority of her career working in the non-profit sector in South Africa primarily in roles related to funding non-profits and promotion of individual and corporate philanthropy. Since returning to the UK she has recently completed an MSc in Sustainable Horticulture and Food Production at Schumacher College. She is currently dedicating her time to growing food and working with and supporting local food production initiatives. 

Julie Brown (independent)

Julie has been a Growing Communities’ director since it launched in 1996 and now also helps run a 17-acre orchard in Kent. Described by Transition founder Rob Hopkins as a perfect balance of practical and theoretical, Julie has been nominated for a Triodos Ethical Small Business Award, has stood on the London Food Board, and has campaigned tirelessly for policy as well as practical change to food and farming in the UK.

Mark Sainsbury (independent)

Mark has 25 years of experience in the hospitality industry and is co-founder of the Zetter Group of hotels, restaurants and bars. He also co-founded the Sustainable Restaurant Association, a not-for-profit membership organisation advising and accrediting food businesses towards greater sustainability. He is Trustee for the Ashden Awards for sustainable energy, the Climate Change Collaboration and both the Linbury and Mark Leonard Charitable Trusts.

Back to the LEAP home page